Hazara University Mansehra


Department of Biochemistry

The department of Biochemistry at Hazara University was established in 2002. Initially the department offered 4-years honors bachelor degree program. In 2004 MPhil and PhD programs were offered in 2004. At present department is offering admissions in all the degree programs twice a year. The Department has highly competent and qualified faculty including 05 Assistant professors and 06 lecturers (almost all have PhD in process from national and international universities). The faculty has produced many publications in journals of international repute. The faculty members have specialization in the field of Biochemistry, Environmental Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Protein Chemistry and Enzymology. Presently the total strength of students in the Department are 90 for BS, 264 for M.Phil and 24 for PhD.
The courses offered for the degrees programs provide the students not only extensive exposure of basic Biochemistry but also of Molecular Biology and Biotechnology to face the future challenges. At present department has won two research projects that will enhance the research activities in the department. To strengthen the research activities department is actively working in collaboration with different research centers and institutes.

Vision Statement of the Department of Biochemistry
The vision of the department of biochemistry is to provide the quality education at under graduate, graduate and post graduate level. This will produce high tech professional that will play a vital role in the economic growth of the country.

Mission Statement of the Department of Biochemistry
To serve the people of the community, the province and the nation through the provision of the highest standards of education and training in the broad biochemistry area; and to pursue biochemical research that will further the scientific knowledge of mankind and lead to improvements in human and animal health and welfare.

Degree Programs offered with program Description
At present department is offering admission in BS, M.Sc, M.Phil and PhD twice a year.